The Miniaturist

  • by Jessie Burton
  • Narrated by Davina Porter
  • 13 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set in 17th-century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.
"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed...."
On a brisk autumn day in 1686, 18-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office - leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.
But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist - an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways...
Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand - and fear - the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation...or the architect of their destruction?
Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too Many Holes

Burton gives us a novel set in 17th century Amsterdam, a booming mercantile center. Young Nella has arrived from the country, newly married, only to find that her husband Johannes is away on business and that her harsh sister-in-law, Marin, rules the roost. When he returns, he presents her with a wedding gift that he believes will keep her busy: a cabinet designed like their house, but empty. It's Nella's task to fill it, and she contacts by mail a miniaturist to create the first pieces. When the package arrives, there are additional, unordered pieces that are astonishingly identical to reality. How does the miniaturist know so much about the Brandt home? Even more strangely, some of the figures representing the family start to change . . . and Nella begins to feel that she is living in a house of secrets.

This novel was really slow-going at first, so slow that I almost gave up on it. While I'm glad that I stuck with it to the end, there were a number of problems. First, we never really learn exactly who the miniaturist is or how she knows so much. At times, Nella seems almost too naive, and she and other characters change far too abruptly to be believable. The ending--well, lets just say that we're somewhat left hanging. While it feels like a conclusion, again, there are just too many holes
Read full review

- Cariola "malfi"

Intriguing tale set in 17th Century Netherlands

Would you listen to The Miniaturist again? Why?

I found this book entertaining but flawed. This is the story of a bride who enters a family she barely knows, how she comes to be a true part of that family and carries it forward regardless of the very inauspicious beginnings of her relationship with the other members of the family. I enjoyed listening to this book but once is enough.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Miniaturist?

Without giving anything away, there is a particular scene in the book where the reason for the issues Lena is experiencing with her husband become suddenly revealed to her. It is hard for this particular scene not to be memorable.

What does Davina Porter bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Davina Porter's narration certainly added depth to the characters. The female characters in this book were well developed and congruent; the male characters remained shallow; they also benefited from Porter's reading.

Any additional comments?

The relationship between Johannes and Lena is the backbone of this book and what gives it meaning. It is unfortunate that the supposed depth of the feelings and commitment they develop toward each other is not substantiated by their interactions and conversation in the novel. I enjoy period pieces and, as such, I enjoyed this book (although the degree of detail for us to develop a real notion of what life was like in 17th Century Netherlands is really not there...we just get to see a postcard). All in all, this book had a lot of promise...we are kept guessing through it...but most of the promise remains unfulfilled.

Read full review

- Pita "Life long compulsive reader & lover of recorded books"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-26-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio