The Mighty Johns and Other Stories

  • by David Baldacci, Brad Meltzer, Anne Perry, Lawrence Block, Dennis Lehane
  • Narrated by Martin Jarvis, Scott Brick, Otto Penzler
  • 6 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Mighty Johns, an all-new, original novella from David Baldacci, performed by Scott Brick, highlights this collection of mysteries from the greatest names in suspense. College football star Tor North, who is also a brilliant scientist, brings his intellect to bear on a forty-year-old mystery at Draven University. Herschel Ruggles, the mightiest Mighty John football legend, disappeared into thin air after a record-making touchdown, and Tor is determined to get to the bottom of the matter. Ghostly visions and murder are the results of his sleuthing...with the answer lying close to home."The Empire Strikes Back" by Brad Meltzer, performed by Scott Brick, is the twisted story of a prank pulled by a group of MIT students during the annual Harvard-Yale football game. What will they do to top the one they pulled last year?
"The End of Innocence," performed by Martin Jarvis, a rugby story by Anne Perry, features the last game before the boys head off to WWI. A murder brings out the worst of the game's roughness, but was it an accident? Life will never be the same after this game.


What the Critics Say

"Every Baldacci fan will want to read The Mighty Johns, and they'll be joined by legions of others." (Publishers Weekly) "The extraordinary one of the more remarkable stories ever written." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Initally, I found it difficult to follow the story line. To many adjectives. Later as the story developes it became interesting. Not one of my favorites and rather short.
Read full review


Short and Sweet

A very nicely writen short story in my view. It is rather short but has all of the makings of a large novel. I enjoyed this book emensely.
Read full review

- Craig H.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-16-2002
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books