The Memory Keeper's Daughter

  • by Kim Edwards
  • Narrated by Ilyana Kadushin
  • 15 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times best seller by Kim Edwards, The Memory Keeper's Daughter is a brilliantly crafted novel of parallel lives, familial secrets, and the redemptive power of love.
Kim Edwards' stunning novel begins on a winter night in 1964 in Lexington, Kentucky, when a blizzard forces Dr. David Henry to deliver his own twins. His son, born first, is perfectly healthy, but the doctor immediately recognizes that his daughter has Down syndrome. Rationalizing it as a need to protect Norah, his wife, he makes a split-second decision that will alter all of their lives forever. He asks his nurse, Caroline, to take the baby away to an institution and never to reveal the secret. Instead she disappears into another city to raise the child herself. So begins this beautifully told story that unfolds over a quarter of a century - in which these two families, ignorant of each other, are yet bound by the fateful decision made that winter night long ago.
A family drama, The Memory Keeper's Daughter explores every mother's silent fear: What would happen if you lost your child and she grew up without you? It is also an astonishing tale of love and how the mysterious ties that hold a family together help us survive the heartache that occurs when long-buried secrets are finally uncovered.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Really enjoyed it! Highly engaging characters.

A well written story, engaging and well told. The characters, the struggles and the time come alive!
Read full review

- Anna M.

A favorite

This is one of my favorite books of all time. Read it several years ago and bought it on audible recently and it was even better this time around. A love/hate for the characters but you can't image leaving their lives. Such a unique storyline and very well written.
The reader of this Audible did a GREAT job!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-18-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio