The Man in the Picture

  • by Susan Hill
  • Narrated by Paul Andsell, Jessica Rushton
  • 2 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A mysterious depiction of masked revellers at the Venice carnival hangs in the college rooms of Oliver's old professor in Cambridge. On this cold winter's night, its eerie secret is revealed by the ageing don. The dark art of the Venetian scene, instead of imitating life, has the power to entrap it. To stare into the painting is to play dangerously with the unseen demons it hides, and become the victim of its macabre beauty....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fun spine tingler

Susan Hill has the ghost story down pat. She writes with great economy - no frills, just chills. Hers are the fun, tingle-up-your-spine campfire stories in which you may see what's coming, but enjoy getting there anyway. The premise of The Man in the Picture has been seen before in other formats, but Hill's writing is good enough to make it a worthy read. Paul Andsell's reading is mostly good, although his voicing of the ancient Countess is too old lady falsetto for my taste. I just enjoyed this short little tale for what it is - a nice spooky snack between larger reads.
Read full review

- Janice

Haunting and evocative

I love Susan HIll's writing. She has many gifts, but the one I most enjoy is her ability to create a haunting, suspense-filled atmosphere full of sensory detail. THE MAN IN THE PICTURE is a jewel of a ghost story in the tradition of M.R. James and I loved every minute of it. The narration was superb. You may never again regard a painting of masqued Venetian revelers without awe...
Read full review

- Die Falknerin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-02-2008
  • Publisher: Long Barn Books