Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.
Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amid the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her - and himself.
Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce, and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
©2017 Jillian Cantor (P)2017 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jennifer Masterson on 06-22-17

This was absolutely fantastic!!!

I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story!

There are two storylines in this novel. Part of this book takes place in 1989 and the other part takes place in 1938.

In one storyline Katie lives in California and is the daughter of a stamp collector. It's 1989 and she comes upon an unopened letter with an unusual stamp on it. She is going through a divorce and her father is living in a home due to his late stage of Alzheimer's.

In the other storyline it's 1938 and The Faber Family is living in Austria. They are a Jewish family. Kristoff, is Frederick Faber's apprentice. He is learning to be a stamp engraver. He eventually finds himself falling in love with one of Frederick's daughters and becomes involved in the resistance.

These two storylines eventually come together. The author, Jillian Cantor, does a fantastic job of making this happen, smoothly.

I listened to the audio version. It's fabulous! The narrators are terrific. I highly recommend this version if you enjoy audio!

By the way, I think this would make for a great book group discussion. I also think it would make a great movie! Do not miss out on this book! It's wonderful!

Highly highly recommended!!!

Read More Hide me

14 of 15 people found this review helpful


By M. Ryder on 10-27-17

Finally! A Great One!

Lately, I'm not having much luck with finding good, solid audiobooks, but this one was fantastic for sure! It kept me wanting to hear every single word! It's a story that leaves you asking, can we actually become different people, based on where we are and the circumstances surrounding us at the time. Make sure to have the tissues at hand near the end of the book. Interesting to learn that the making of stamps was yet another creative way of sending messages during WW II. As for the narration, it too was pretty good! Don't hesitate purchasing this audiobook! It's worth the T credit!!!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews