The Lost Letter

  • by Jillian Cantor
  • Narrated by Allyson Ryan, George Newbern, Betsy Struxness, Jennifer Rubins
  • 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.
Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amid the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her - and himself.
Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce, and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautiful, sweet story!

Loved this book!
Such a good story!
A really great one to listen to.
I wish there was more!
Read full review

- Tienna

This was absolutely fantastic!!!

I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story!

There are two storylines in this novel. Part of this book takes place in 1989 and the other part takes place in 1938.

In one storyline Katie lives in California and is the daughter of a stamp collector. It's 1989 and she comes upon an unopened letter with an unusual stamp on it. She is going through a divorce and her father is living in a home due to his late stage of Alzheimer's.

In the other storyline it's 1938 and The Faber Family is living in Austria. They are a Jewish family. Kristoff, is Frederick Faber's apprentice. He is learning to be a stamp engraver. He eventually finds himself falling in love with one of Frederick's daughters and becomes involved in the resistance.

These two storylines eventually come together. The author, Jillian Cantor, does a fantastic job of making this happen, smoothly.

I listened to the audio version. It's fabulous! The narrators are terrific. I highly recommend this version if you enjoy audio!

By the way, I think this would make for a great book group discussion. I also think it would make a great movie! Do not miss out on this book! It's wonderful!

Highly highly recommended!!!
Read full review

- Jennifer Masterson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-13-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio