The Lost Boys Symphony

  • by Mark Ferguson
  • Narrated by Nicholas Tecosky
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A startlingly original, genre-bending literary debut in which a lovesick college student is abducted by other versions of himself from the future.
After Henry's girlfriend, Val, leaves him and transfers to another school, his grief begins to manifest itself in bizarre and horrifying ways. Cause and effect, once so reliable, no longer appear to be related in any recognizable manner. Either he's hallucinating, or the strength of his heartbreak over Val has unhinged reality itself.
After weeks of sleepless nights and sick delusions, Henry decides to run away. If he can only find Val, he thinks, everything will make sense again. So he leaves his mother's home in the suburbs and marches toward the city and the woman who he thinks will save him. Once on the George Washington Bridge, however, a powerful hallucination knocks him out cold. When he awakens, he finds himself kidnapped by two strangers - one old, one middle-aged - who claim to be future versions of Henry himself. Val is the love of your life, they tell him. We've lost her, but you don't have to.
In the meantime Henry's best friend, Gabe, is on the verge of breakdown of his own. Convinced he is somehow to blame for Henry's deterioration and eventual disappearance, Gabe is consumed by a potent mix of guilt and sadness. When he is approached by an enigmatic stranger claiming to be an older version of his lost friend, Gabe begins to fear for his own sanity. With no one else to turn to, he reaches out to the only person who can possibly help him make sense of it all: Val.


What the Critics Say

"Mark Andrew Ferguson hinges the classic love triangle conflict to a mind-bending page-turner about madness, time-travel, and alternate realities. Mesmerizing and dazzlingly original - a breakout novel." (Wally Lamb, author of We Are Water and She's Come Undone)
"A wonderfully mad fugue of young love and time out of joint that grabs you from the first scene and keeps you guessing until the last." (Matt Ruff, author of The Mirage and Bad Monkeys)
"Vivid, haunting, stellar prose. A brave meditation on the fragility of the mind and the treachery of the heart." (Matthew Quick, author of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Good Luck of Right Now)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting joyride through madness

This story was very well done and kept me engaged throughout. The exploration of madness, parallel universes and time travel certainly could have devolved into a cliche, but instead the approach was fresh and interesting throughout. The characters are well formed and I felt invested in them, I also found myself shaking my head in agreement with many of the insightful observations on human motivation. I will most definitely look for more from this author.
Read full review

- Thor, goT


I enjoyed this, but an awfully confusing story with an ending that left my head scratching
Read full review

- Jordan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-24-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio