Regular price: $27.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.
When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant.
Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo’s house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.
©2010 Robin Pilcher (P)2010 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.” (Debbie Macomber)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By NCKitkat on 05-23-11

incorrect Publisher's Summary

I read this book, thinking that it was the first, and that A Matter of Trust was the second. I enjoyed the book, but the Publisher's Summary for this books is incorrect- the correct summary is actually the one for A Matter of Trust. After downloading both, reading this one first, and then beginning the second, I realized they were the same book. I contacted Audible, who credited my account for the second and did agree, they are the same book, but different title because of different publishers. I think this should be noted so the same mistake is not made- Don't buy them both!
As for the book itself, the characters were fairly well-developed, and did indeed remind me of a Rosamund Pilcher book. I generally read thrillers, mysteries, and alternate with science fiction/fantasy and historical novels, but occasionally pick up Maeve Binchy, and have read Rosamunde Pilcher in the past. This was a nice change, certainly worth reading.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful


By Stephanie Barber-Haile on 07-13-17

What a wonderful story!

This is one of those books where the characters stay with you long ater you've finished it.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc