The Lonely Girl : Country Girls Trilogy

  • by Edna O'Brien
  • Narrated by Edna O'Brien
  • Series: Country Girls Trilogy
  • 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Caithleen and Baba, first encountered in The Country Girls, are now living in Dublin, where they discuss men, drink gin, and try to look fast. Cait, in the pursuit of true love, becomes involved with the fanatically domineering Eugene Gaillard. Painful disillusion and occasional moments of bliss in her life make this a bittersweet tale, and it is told with all the perception and wit that is the hallmark of Edna O’Brien.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Edna, please give me some closure!

I listened to The Country Girls and enjoyed Edna's descriptions of growing up in rural Ireland because my mother grew up much the same way and it was as if my mother was telling the story. The story is told by the author and her accent is much like my mother's as well. What was frustrating with the first book is that it had no end and left the reader wanting to know what happened to the two young girls in Dublin. I was delighted to see a sequel to the first book and downloaded it immediately only to find it has ended the same way...poor Cait is once again left wondering and sad. My guess is that the publisher took one long book and divided it into three (let's hope it is just three!) books. Enough now, give us an ending!
Read full review

- Eileen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-13-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios