Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

If classic performer Jim Roberts’ East Coast accent seems incongruous with the Texan setting of this perennial favorite of Zane Grey’s westerns, consider the loneliness and isolation of the novel’s hero, Buck Duane. Son of an outlaw, Buck Duane has always wanted to be on the right side of the law, but the cruelty of the West - and his fast gun - seem to make such respectability impossible. Popular as film and radio adaptations, The Lone Star Ranger features an outlaw with a good heart, a beautiful young kidnapped woman, and that endless horizon of cowboy’s nightmares and dreams. At 10 hours long, this audiobook will get keep you company all the way from Nuevo Laredo to Amarillo.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Despite his precarious position as a hunted fugitive on the wrong side of the law, Buck Duane puts his life and freedom on the line for a damsel in distress. This is one of Grey's best westerns.
©1997 Jimcin Recordings
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"One sometimes forgets how skilled a writer Grey was." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Glenn on 07-06-05

The Myth of the West

Zane Greay almost single handedly created "the myth of the West" and his some of his descriptions of that incredible country may never be equaled. In this book he uses a variation which makes the story quite interesting. The ultimate good guy is actually a bad guy for much of the book until he finally "sees the light". The ending is also a bit of a surprise and very well done.
As to the reader, he had a slight Eastern accent which was fine with me. The few times I tried to listen to someone read Zane Grey with a "Western twang", I just gave up. It was simply too distracting. I give this production five stars.

Read More Hide me

24 of 24 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Joseph Scarnici on 12-16-13

Awesome book!

Great story, great book, didn't care for the guy reading it. At times he sounded like Steven Hawkings...All in all good pick.

Read More Hide me

1 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc