The Lightkeeper's Daughters

  • by Jean E. Pendziwol
  • Narrated by Dara Rosenberg, Dawn Harvey, Tom Parks
  • 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With the haunting atmosphere and emotional power of The Language of Flowers, Orphan Train, and The Light Between Oceans, critically acclaimed children's author Jean E. Pendziwol's adult debut is an affecting story of family, identity, and art that involves a decades-old mystery.
Though her mind is still sharp, Elizabeth's eyes have failed. No longer able to linger over her beloved books or gaze at the paintings that move her spirit, she fills the void with music and memories of her family, especially her beloved twin sister, Emily. When her late father's journals are discovered after an accident, the past suddenly becomes all too present.
With the help of Morgan, a delinquent teenager performing community service at her senior home, Elizabeth goes through the diaries, a journey through time that brings the two women closer together. Entry by entry, these unlikely friends are drawn deep into a world far removed from their own, to Porphyry Island on Lake Superior, where Elizabeth's father manned the lighthouse and raised his young family 70 years before.
As the words on those musty pages come alive, Elizabeth and Morgan begin to realize that their fates are connected to the isolated island in ways they never dreamed. While the discovery of Morgan's connection sheds light onto her own family mysteries, the faded pages of the journals will shake the foundation of everything Elizabeth thinks she knows and bring the secrets of the past into the light.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

very good

This book was awesome, it was a great story with a surprising end. loved the narrator's, their voices fit the story beautifully!!!!!
Read full review

- Jason E Burgher

Great story

I especially enjoyed the interwoven stories of Morgan and Elizabeth. Interesting reveals as the stories progressed.
Read full review

- Lynne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2017
  • Publisher: Harper Audio