Regular price: $18.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her 86-year-old subject - and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.
Kate is a 26-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an 86-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life.
But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat.
As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history - with the help of a charming photographer - she pieces together a portrait of the pool and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.
In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations - an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.
©2018 Libby Page (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Sara on 07-30-18

Good Grief

I can't force myself to finish listening to this sad, repetitive and endlessly tedious book. The characters are thinly developed and the story just seems to keep covering the same ground and making the same point--over and over again. I usually love books that involve storylines centered on character wholeness and healing through community. However, in the end I think the writing lacked the sparks (or maybe sparkle) needed to help the reader make a true connection to the characters as people.

I also had trouble with the narration. A Lido is an outdoor swimming area--whether it be a beach, a swimming pool or the deck on a cruise boat with pools. The word comes from the Italian and MOST all of the world pronounces it in the Italian manner......LEE-Doh....NOT the way Corbett chose to pronounce this key word. It absolutely was like fingernails on a blackboard. Golly. What an irritating bore this turned out to be.

Read More Hide me

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Robin on 08-06-18

sweet story

This book is all about the characters ... not an action book, no wild plot twists. Just regular people, young and old. It was a charming story, with a smart ending. Recommended!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews