Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Legion is the action-packed tenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Egypt, AD 49. Cato, one of the youngest Prefects of the Roman army, and Centurion Macro have a tough posting: to track down and destroy a gang of former gladiators who have turned to piracy. Driven by vengeance, these hardened brutes have been defiling temples, sinking Roman ships, and slaughtering men, women and children.
What's worse is that they are doing it all under the name of Macro and Cato, in an attempt to stir up a rebellion against the occupying forces. And it's working. If Macro and Cato don't stop the pirates in time, it could be the beginning of the end for the Roman Empire.
©2010 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this kind of competition!" (Bernard Cornwall)
"Scarrow's novels rank with the best." (Independent)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By val wills. on 10-01-17

brilliant as ever the continious of story of Ajax

Macro and Cato survived yet more blood deaths and betrayal . Love love love it

Read More Hide me

By Simon on 08-17-17

Macro and Cato Going on a Bear Hunt

I still love these books. There is little better a way to while away some hours than in the company of Marco and Cato especially with the excellent Jonathan Keeble at the microphone. This one sees our two heroes led a rather merry dance by their nemesis, the ex-gladiator Ajax. There's lots of great action and a slightly unexpected conclusion as Scarrow once again delivers a high quality adventure. There is also a decent twist in the plot near the end which I personally didn't see coming.

If you like the previous ones you should be as happy as me again with the one small proviso that Ajax's continuing survival does take a little bit of swallowing as the book goes on. Still one of my favourite series though.

Read More Hide me

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews