The Killing Ground

  • by Elleston Trevor
  • Narrated by Joe Geoffrey
  • 7 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"The battle of Falaise," wrote General Eisenhower in 1944, "will be the greatest killing-ground of the war." He was not far off the mark, for at Falaise the invasion ended and a new advance began that carried the Allied armies to Berlin.
Elleston Trevor depicts the men of a tank squadron as they cross the silent, darkened channel, storm the "invincible" coast, and sweep into Falaise. His book is a classic story of men at war.


What the Critics Say

"The technical detail is unobtrusive, but convincingly adequate; the dialogue is sharply revealing of character; and the characters themselves are created with compassionate warmth." (The Times Literary Supplement)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Tank Story

Elleston Trevor is a British writer who is more famous for his 1964 book "The Flight Of The Phoenix" which was also made into a movie. "The Killing Ground" was written in 1956 and is about a British Tank squadron. The story starts on the landing craft waiting to land on Juno Beach on D-Day. It covers the gritty D-Day British Tank Division action on Juno Beach and then the battles on their way to the biggest battle at Falaise. General Eisenhower said the battle of Falaise was one of greatest killing grounds of the war. The British, Canadian and Polish armies faced four German armies at Falaise. If the Germans lost the battle they would lose France, and they did. Trevor's dialogue is sharply revealing of character and the speech pattern and slang is valid for the time frame. His technical detail is accurate and unobtrusive. This is a great WWII historical novel written by a Brit about a British Tank squadron. It was great to learn more about what went on D-Day other than of the U.S. landings. If you like history or military history you will enjoy this book. Joe Geoffrey did a good job with narration and the slight British accent.
Read full review

- Jean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-21-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios