The Jane Austen Project

  • by Kathleen A. Flynn
  • Narrated by Saskia Maarleveld
  • 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: Two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.
London, 1815: Two travelers - Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane - arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters - a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back", their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.
Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry.
But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady 19th-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it...however heartbreaking that may prove.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good-ish

I've fantasized about time travel, so glimpsing what daily life in 1815 would have been like was a blast. The details of Jane Austen's life, her friends and family, was the best part of the book. And yet it was easy to stop listening to, and I wasn't in a rush to pick it up again. The story of our main characters, the time travelers, just wasn't gripping. My mind wandered, and I'd have to back up. Though it had a fantastic premise, the book was strangely dull.
Read full review

- Scotty

Will There Be A Sequel?

Any additional comments?

In the feeling of Jodi Taylor's St Mary's series and the All Souls trilogy from Deborah Harkness, Kathleen A Flynn brings us a sweet, rich time travelling tale. Rachel, a humanitarian physician, and Liam, an actor-scholar, travel back to 1815 to save Jane Austen's letters to her sister Cassandra and possibly bring back her manuscript for a lost novel.

The story is a love letter to Austen -- the author's passion for Austen and her times helps bring the era to life. And I'm hoping for a sequel -- will Rachel and Liam return to the 19th century to explore the mystery surrounding the Bronte sisters? I certainly hope so.

Read full review

- H Price

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2017
  • Publisher: Harper Audio