The Invitation

  • by Lucy Foley
  • Narrated by Emma Gregory
  • 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An epic, escapist novel that will transport you away to an extraordinary time in history. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.
Rome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the postwar darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds but both trying and failing to carve out new lives.
Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world. They join the Contessa's collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for the Cannes Film Festival. The scene onboard is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella's secrets run the deepest.
Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who's been confined to history.
The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera to the darkness of war-torn Spain and to a golden - if rather haunted - time.

More

What the Critics Say

"I loved The Invitation...I could dive into this book and be amongst the glittering characters in the Italian sun. A beautifully complex and vivid story, full of repressed longing and secrets. An absolutely enchanting tale." (Lucinda Riley)
"So powerfully evoked...with dark, sensuous undercurrents that lingered on in my mind, long after I'd reluctantly left Stella and Hal behind." (Kate Riordan)
"Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past...richly drawn and compelling." (Rosanna Ley)
"An utterly seductive story depicting forbidden love and loss in 1950s Italy. The perfect beach read this summer." (Louise O'Neill)
"I loved every page - it's vividly written and utterly absorbing." (Iona Gray)
"Glamorous and romantic and bittersweet all at once...a fabulous story." (Beatriz Williams, New York Times best-selling author of A Hundred Summers)
"It's a beautiful, compulsive and glamorous read - perfect for long summer days." (Lucy Clarke, author of the Richard & Judy best seller The Sea Sisters)
"The combination of the glittering, glamorous setting and the magnetic characters mesmerized me. This book is luminous." (Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times best-selling author of Here's to Us)
"A compelling love story that takes us far beyond the alluring Italian coast to a darker place, where secrets hide just below the water's surface.... A great read." (Brunonia Barry, New York Times best-selling author of The Lace Reader)
"Fabulously engrossing." (Woman & Home)

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-14-2016
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited