The Invisible Mountain

  • by Carolina De Robertis
  • Narrated by Christine Avila
  • 17 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On the first day of the millennium, a small town gathers to witness a miracle and unravel its portents for the century: the mysterious reappearance of a lost infant, Pajarita. Later, as a young woman in the capital city - Montevideo, brimming with growth and promise - Pajarita begins a lineage of fiercely independent women. Her daughter, Eva, survives a brutal childhood to pursue her dreams as a rebellious poet and along the hazardous precipices of erotic love. Eva's daughter, Salomé, driven by an unrelenting idealism, commits clandestine acts that will end in tragedy as unrest sweeps Uruguay. But what saves them all is the fierce fortifying connection between mother and daughter that will bring them together to face the future.From Perón's glittering Buenos Aires to the rustic hills of Rio de Janeiro, from the haven of a corner butchershop to U.S. embassy halls, the Firielli family traverses a changing South America and the uncharted terrain of their relationships with one another.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Generation of Stories

Would you consider the audio edition of The Invisible Mountain to be better than the print version?

Not read the print version. So this is a stupid question. You do know this is Audible. Right?

What other book might you compare The Invisible Mountain to and why?

Useless question. Get rid of this one.

What about Christine Avila’s performance did you like?

Voice inflection and measured performance made the listening experience quite good.

Who was the most memorable character of The Invisible Mountain and why?

Eva as a central character from which all others revolve.

Any additional comments?

Enjoyed this book very much. Having visited Montevideo several times there was much familiarity in the story. Very emotional at times but the links to actual historical facts was a big bonus. I'll listen to this again but not yet. I need to recover first.

Read full review

- John

Nothing uplifting about this book

I hate to waste credits, but I read the reviews on this book and decided to give it a go. First of all the narration was just awful. Talk about pathos. One after the other. All you heard in her voice was pity. Pathetic powerless women, who never get it together. And it continued right to the end. I kept waiting for a high moment in one of their lives. But not a chance. I stuck with it, but couldn't wait for it to end. Ugh. Pass on this one.
Read full review

- Melodi Blanton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2009
  • Publisher: Random House Audio