Regular price: $32.68

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $32.68

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The House at Old Vine is the second in a trilogy of novels by Norah Lofts about the inhabitants of a Suffolk house from the late 14th century to the middle of the 20th.
Covering the turbulent years of 1496 to 1680, it follows six generations of the descendants of Martin Reed, who founded the "House" dynasty through his act of rebellion in The Town House, through persecution, war, and revolution, from the era of Christopher Columbus to the Restoration of Charles II.
Written with Lofts’ customary attention to historical detail, this novel follows intriguing characters who lived and died for what they believed in.
©1961 Norah Lofts (P)2014 Soundings
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Susan on 07-24-17

Interesting and compelling

I enjoyed the different character development and a variety of personalities and physical features. The story was interesting and unpredictable. I'm glad there's another book to Follow

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Daisii on 03-23-16

What a wonderful suprise!

If you could sum up The House at Old Vine in three words, what would they be?

Epic historical saga.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Each character made me feel absorbed in their tale.

Which character – as performed by Martyn Read and Julieet Prague – was your favorite?

Who could choose? The performances were outstanding. Every character had its own life force that distinguished itself from each other.

If you could rename The House at Old Vine, what would you call it?

House of Quilted Remnants

Any additional comments?

The performances of each character made me feel like I could see and smell those historical surroundings. A history of a house and each generation of people weaving tales of life as it moves through war, love, lust, loss and all those secret feelings that determine whether you live in a house or a home.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc