The Horror Horn: An E. F. Benson Ghost Story

  • by E. F. Benson
  • Narrated by Greg Wagland
  • 0 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Horror Horn is set in the Swiss Alps and opens in the cosy lounge of a resort hotel, where a string ensemble strikes up with the sugary strains of Puccini. Our hero is further entertained to an unlikely yarn of savage sub-humans living near the Ungeheuerhorn, or Horror Horn, a forbidding mountain peak nearby. Next day, a skiing trip to St. Luigi in the next valley to lunch with a friend marks the start of an unexpectedly terrifying adventure. The Horror Horn is not a ghost story as such: the creatures in it are most definitely flesh and blood and they are hungry!
E. F. Benson is well known for his Mapp and Lucia novels but his ghost and supernatural stories are marvellous jewels, combining elegant writing and moments of blood-curdling horror. Here Greg Wagland narrates one of the best of them, for Magpie Audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Horror in the Engadine

Would you listen to The Horror Horn: An E. F. Benson Ghost Story again? Why?

I'm not sure. Maybe for Hallowe'en. It makes the flesh creep.

What did you like best about this story?

Benson has a gift for realism, however outlandish the situations in which he puts his characters.

Which character – as performed by Greg Wagland – was your favorite?

He is a great narrator, but I think he performed the protagonist's voice best.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Switzerland: Be Very Afraid.

Any additional comments?

You'll never again be able to ski through the Engadine without wondering what might lurk in the ice and snow....

Read full review

- Die Falknerin

Scary stuff here!

What does lurk in the snow .. you do not want to know. Great narrator. Great Story. If it makes you shudder and gives you the feeling of spiders crawling on your skin, than an author did a good job.
Read full review

- Carly

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-20-2011
  • Publisher: Magpie Audio