The Hawley Book of the Dead

  • by Chrysler Szarlan
  • Narrated by Cassandra Campbell
  • 14 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.
Revelation "Reve" Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.
Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. They have three lovely young daughters, a beautiful home, and what seems like a charmed life. But Reve’s world is shattered when an intruder alters her trick pistol and she accidentally shoots and kills her beloved husband onstage.
Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to the place she has always felt safest - an antiquated farmhouse in the forest of Hawley Five Corners, where the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend - and first love - is the town’s chief of police. Here, in the forest, with its undeniable air of enchantment, Reve hopes she and her girls will be protected.
Delving into the past for answers, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient leather-bound journal holding mysterious mythic power. As she pieces together the truth behind the book, Reve will have to shield herself and her daughters against an uncertain, increasingly dangerous fate. For soon it becomes clear that the stranger who upended Reve’s life in Las Vegas has followed her to Hawley - and that she has something he desperately wants.
Brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic, The Hawley Book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, September 2014 - I have a feeling I’m going to be a fan of Chrysler Szarlan for a long time The Hawley Book of the Dead grabbed hold of me within the first few pages, as it started - quite literally - with a bang. Reve Dyer and her daughters are forced to disappear from their Las Vegas home by the heart-wrenching and eerie circumstances surrounding her husband’s murder. They move to Hawley Five Corners - her ancestors’ estate outside of Boston - in an effort to evade the killer that is stalking their family. Cassandra Campbell brings the suspense, romance, and magic of Szarlan’s words to life, creating a world worth re-visiting over and over. —Katie, Audible Editor

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Nice generational witch tale

Not great literature, but nicely done and fun to boot. The romance isn't icky. The villains are interesting and the reveal is very intriguing. The title has almost nothing to do with the plot, but it doesn't matter to the story.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

It grabbed me from the start

This is not my usual genre. I just could not decide on what to listen to next, and I chose this one. After I did I contacted Audible to see if they still had the return policy. I was so sure I had made a mistake. Oh no, I did not make a mistake. This book grabbed me from the beginning, and I could not listen/read fast enough. The plot was believable, as were the characters, and it was just a joy. The only thing that makes me unhappy is that I have finished it.

What a wonderful surprise.
Read full review

- Katherine Schmidt

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-23-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios