The Haunted South

  • by Nancy Roberts
  • Narrated by Kevin Stillwell
  • 2 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection features such stories as "Passenger Train Number 9"; "The Little People"; "The Phantom Rider of the Confederacy"; "The Demon of Wizard Clip"; "Room for One More"; "Tavern of Terror"; "The Surrency Ghost"; "The King's Messengers"; "The Haunted Gold Mine"; "The Singing River"; "The Gray Lady"; "Railroad Bill"; and "The Haunted Car".


What the Critics Say

"Kevin Stillwell's old-fashioned delivery is ideal for Nancy Roberts's ghost stories, which range from charming to frightening. 'Room for One More' is set in the 1950s, when New Yorker Elise Barnhardt visits the South. Stillwell's dazzling description of Spanish moss and a sprawling mansion provide verisimilitude. Things become scary one night when Barnhardt looks out her window to see a stagecoach and a footman who calls out, 'Room for one more....' At the story’s climax, Stillwell's delivery furthers the creepy mood. Most sad is 'The Haunted Gold Mine,' in which Skinflint McIntosh owns a mine, which he claims is safe. The story of the miners' uprising and the death of spirited Joe Magee is heartrending. At the end, his ghost proclaims, 'I'll haunt McIntosh forever.'" (AudioFile magazine)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-27-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios