The Happy Prince and Other Stories (Unabridged Selections)

  • by Oscar Wilde
  • Narrated by Anton Lesser
  • 2 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Oscar Wilde's collection of fairy stories are among the greatest and most poignant classics for children and adults alike. Humour, pathos, delightful little characters abound in the stories of The Happy Prince and the Swallow who agrees to keep him company despite approaching winter; The Selfish Giant, who doesn't want children playing in his garden, and The Remarkable Rocket. In addition, there are those who are not so familiar: The Star Child, The Young King, and The Devoted Friend.


Audible Editor Reviews

Oscar Wilde wrote this moving piece for his own children. Lovely music, often appropriately melancholy, can be heard throughout the story. The happy prince, which is a statue, is anything but joyful, a state that narrator Anton Lesser deftly captures. As the prince looks over his village, he sees the pain of those who live there and feels compelled to help. He's assisted by a sweet-voiced swallow who acts at the prince's emissary to help those in need. Ultimately, the spiteful townspeople, who sound as nasty as they behave, criticize the prince and the swallow. In the end, good prevails, uplifting everyone, including listeners.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Messed up version

Would you listen to The Happy Prince and Other Stories (Unabridged Selections) again? Why?

I love this book and the audible performance was excellent. However, the version that's on here is messed up because within the Rocket story, it starts in the middle then goes to the beginning then replays the middle through to the end. It was very confusing the first time around. I asked Audible to fix it, but they never did.

Read full review

- Dru

Poor Quality dispatches books with a Bit Rate of 32KB ! (128Kb is the lowest Mpg3 Quality usually) which sounds like a 1920' telephone wire.

Read full review

- Ulf

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-06-2005
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks