The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole : Adrian Mole

  • by Sue Townsend
  • Narrated by Nicholas Barnes
  • Series: Adrian Mole
  • 5 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The troubled teenager continues to struggle valiantly against the slings and arrows of growing up and his own family's attempts to scar him for life. In between the ups and downs of his relationship with the divine Pandora and worrying that his genius is going unrecognized, Adrian Mole chronicles the pains and pleasures of a misspent adolescence.


What the Critics Say

"A satire of our times. Very funny indeed." (Sunday Times)
"We laugh both at Mole and with him. A wonderful comic read, that, like all the best comedy, says something rather meaningful." (Heat)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another funny diary

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes: It is both warm and funny.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Adrian, since it is his diary.

Have you listened to any of Nicholas Barnes’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes in the first adrian Mole book. This was just as good as this

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

His innocence.

Read full review

- Mia

Funnier than the first

Adrian's parents have reconciled, but he is still obsessed with Pandora and writing for the BBC. Adrian's life is about to turn upside down, but he sails on naively unaware of major events happening around him. Much of the book concerns his mother's pregnancy and delivery, and the settling in of Adrian's new sister. This made me laugh so hard, I had to stop listening while driving. I couldn't see through the tears.

Maybe it's because the characters are more familiar, but I thought this book was funnier than the first. Adrian's diary entries present huge warning flags of trouble ahead, and much of the fun is seeing it come crashing in. I can't wait to get to the next book.
Read full review

- Sheila

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-06-2012
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks