The Girl on the Mountain : Mountain Women Series

  • by Carol Ervin
  • Narrated by Becca Ballenger
  • Series: Mountain Women Series
  • 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Untrue things are rumored of May Rose, but it's true she's too pretty for her own good. Her husband has disappeared, and now she's on her own in a rough town ruled by one of the lumber companies logging the last of West Virginia's virgin forest. The year is 1899, and a woman alone has few options.
With no resources but a litter of pigs and the attachment of an untamed girl, May Rose must find a way to survive with respect. She must also save the girl who sleeps with a doll clutched tight and a knife under her pillow.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


May Rose is a strong and capable heroine who meets many serious challenges in her young life. She soon realizes that her husband is not the man she thought he was and that she must manage for herself. She works hard and tries to do what is right but there are so many challenges. She learns that her husband has a child with a local whore and may have married the child's mother. Then she learns that her husband is dead. Then life becomes even more challenging!
Read full review

- F. Farley

1899 W Virginia Logging Town & Humble Women

Keeping one's honor in a rough and tumble logging town where women are a commodity to be used up and thrown aside is hard to do . . . but one cannot help but to admire young May Rose who comes to town after her husband runs off accused of killing a fellow logger. Her love of children and gentle spirit are admirable, but her determination and hard work to not only provide for herself, but young Wanda, her husband's child that she finds in the town, well, that's true character. This is very good historical fiction. Don't miss it!
Read full review

- Debbie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2014
  • Publisher: Carol L. Ervin