The Girl in the Green Glass Mirror

  • by Elizabeth McGregor
  • Narrated by Clare Willie, Martyn Read
  • 9 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When art dealer Catherine Sergeant meets John Brigham, her view of the world has been shattered. Left by her husband, Robert, without explanation, she expects little from life. Apparently reclusive, John lives alone in a beautiful Arts and Crafts house on the edge of Dorset woodland, and has contacted Catherine's firm so that he may sell unwanted items.
But when the two discover a mutual love of the haunting Victorian faerie artist Richard Dadd, their friendship rapidly deepens. As Catherine and John begin an affair that is to change their lives, John reveals an astonishing secret that links him to Dadd.
Deeply sensual, The Girl in the Green Glass Mirror is a journey not only through love and obsession, but also through the world of Richard Dadd, whose tortured life was more extraordinary than any fairy tale.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I give it 2 you may not think the same

This book has many sad events. It is very sombre indeed.

The characters stories seemed to me to be individual and not linked to another, perhaps this is intentional I dont know. I dont think the book is long enough to explore each character. It didnt build to a "I am dying to find out what is going to happen"

It has left me thinking "have I missed something" or perhaps I was in the mood for a giggle and this book is about people having real life problems to face.

The artist they focus on is quite real, I find his pictures very interesting.... his paintings show you his "inside suffering".

This book has left me with an emotional feeling, not quite sure how to put it in words. I would be very interested to see other comments.
Read full review

- Julie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2010
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks