Regular price: $39.92

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $39.92

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.
Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special, as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends - Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook; and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son - is unmatched, even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love, although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles, since they are from different worlds.
Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.
When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested - and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.
A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.
©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By B. Auld on 08-10-17

That's it?

I loved the book until the end. I felt like the book needed a few more chapters. I understand the beauty in not laying out everyone's ending but I felt that I got zero closure as the book ended with massive gaps and not enough information to come up with an ending on my own. I'm loved the final twists but still think that the ending was majorly lacking. I can't say that I'd recommend this book to others.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By julie on 09-07-17

Shallow

A very shallow story......Everytime the author could have created depth and imagery to the characters she rushed on. Very hard to get into. The narrator is very good though.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews