The French Admiral : Alan Lewrie

  • by Dewey Lambdin
  • Narrated by John Lee
  • Series: Alan Lewrie
  • 15 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

1781: Held by the British, the Chesapeake Bay port of Yorktown is under siege. Pounded by the American forces on land and the deadly warships of their French allies at sea, the once-proud city is aflame and near ruin. But on the horizon, the Royal Navy fleet, with heavily armed frigates, is poised to break through the French blockade. Aboard HMS Desperate, Midshipman Alan Lewrie sets his gunners to their lethal work firing broadsides of 24-pound shot at the enemy vessels.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

British Viewpoint

“The French Admiral” is book two in Dewey Lambdin’s Alan Lewrie series. Lewrie was sent off by his father to the Royal Navy. Alan finds he is a born sailor and is enjoying his life at sea.

As a Midshipman we find him in this book at the siege of Yorktown, near the end of the American Revolutionary War. The Royal Navy, with heavily-armed frigates, is posed to break the French blockade. The French Navy is commanded by Admiral de Grasse.
Lewrie is aboard HMS Desperate. Midshipman Lewrie is in charge of 24 pounder guns firing broadsides at the French vessels.

The book is well written and researched but I am still having trouble liking the hero of the book Alan Lewrie. I shall read a few more books in the series while I look for another series about the Royal Navy vs. Napoleon.

One of my favorite narrators, John Lee is narrating the book. That alone keeps me listening.

Read full review

- Jean

Great Read but CAUTION!

If you are a fan of Patrick O’brian, you will love Dewey Lambdin equally if not more. In the Alan Lewrie series Lambdin is equally historically accurate and perhaps even more engaging, but without the problem I often found of wondering who is speaking at a given time. Lambdin’s characters are very clear and concise. One major word of caution however. These books aren’t cheap, and after reading the first 10, Audible dropped the remaining eight of the series. So, unless you want to take an ending of the series on faith, until the remainder of the series reappears, I suggest not starting.
Read full review

- Craig Walker

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2010
  • Publisher: Random House Audio