The Four Ms. Bradwells

  • by Meg Waite Clayton
  • Narrated by Karen White
  • 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mia, Laney, Betts, and Ginger, best friends since law school, have reunited for a long weekend as Betts waits Senate confirmation of her appointment to the Supreme Court. Nicknamed "the Ms. Bradwells" during their first class at law school in 1979, the four have supported one another through life's challenges: marriages and divorces, births and deaths, career setbacks, and triumphs large and small. But when the Senate hearings uncover a deeply buried skeleton in the friends' collective closet, the Ms. Bradwells retreat to a summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, where they find themselves reliving a much darker period in their past - one that stirs up secrets they've kept for, and from, one another, and could change their lives forever.

More

What the Critics Say

"Clayton unfolds the story through flashbacks and present-day narration in each woman's voice.... [T]his is a stirring and compelling novel about women's changing roles." (Booklist)
"Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Ann Hood, Elin Hilderbrand, and other luminaries of female friendship fiction will find much to captivate them." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

"Modern Day Suffragettes"

Is there anything you would change about this book?

This author is just not for me. However, if you read the Amazon book reviews, which is why I kept this in my Library (have over 100 new listens), they loved this book.This is written from a very cultured point of view. 4 women who met in a law school class bond in a very creative way, thanks to their Law Professor. This story is from their respective points of view on a heinous situation that effected each of there later lives. Think, a very polished version of Dennis Lenes' Mystic River. This is not dark, so read the Amazon reviews to judge and purchase.


Has The Four Ms. Bradwells turned you off from other books in this genre?

Yup, I have to say, yes for me. This is about old monied culture and beliefs. Think, the Kennedy's and some of the headlines that family has had over the years. Yes, I did finished the read as Ms White is a great reader and I did want the mystery solved.


Have you listened to any of Karen White’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I purchased this author due to Ms White's great reading talent and the Amazon book reviews. Her Julie James series is outstanding and not to be missed. Her Jill Shalvis/ Animal series and Rebecca Zanetti / Sin Brothers series are great entertainment. Her take on a author is top notch.note: I do use the new 1.25x speed to match the author intent to the read.


Read full review

- Karen "Sassy dialogue, humor, and a great reader are important to me."

Boing

Boring and uppity story. I hated it it as for a book club, so I felt like a had to finish it. But I couldn't.
Read full review

- Linda Wagner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-05-2011
  • Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC