The Forsyte Saga : The Forsyte Saga (Blackstone Audio, Inc.)

  • by John Galsworthy
  • Narrated by Fred Williams
  • Series: The Forsyte Saga (Blackstone Audio, Inc.)
  • 42 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The three novels that make up The Forsyte Saga chronicle the ebbing social power of the commercial upper-middle class Forsyte family through three generations, beginning in Victorian London during the 1880s and ending in the early 1920s. Galsworthy's masterly narrative examines not only their fortunes but also the wider developments within society, particularly the changing position of women. The Forsyte Saga is a sequence of novels comprising The Man of Property (1906), In Chancery (1920), and To Let (1921) with two interludes, "Indian Summer of a Forsyte" (1918) and "Awakening", published together in 1922.
The saga begins with Soames Forsyte, a successful solicitor who buys land at Robin Hill on which to build a house for his wife Irene and future family. Eventually, the Forsyte family begins to disintegrate when Timothy Forsyte, the last of the old generation, dies at the age of 100.
In these novels, John Galsworthy documented a departed way of life, that of the affluent middle class that ruled England before the 1914 war. The class is criticized on account of its possessiveness, but there is also nostalgia because Galsworthy, as a man born into the class, could also appreciate its virtues.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A delight

I came to this one with no prior exposure to Galsworthy. Had never seen the BBC version or read it. I expected a Merchant & Ivory experience. I was so intrigued to find that, instead of being melodramatic or stuffy, it's a wickedly funny satire. I grinned from start to finish. The narrator is perfect. This type of humor has to be delivered deadpan. It is a family saga with all the tragedies and connections that entails, and the plot is wonderful. I'm surprised, however, that nobody had ever told me it's funny. Oh well. As James Forsyte would say, "I don't know. Can't tell. Nobody tells me ANYTHING."

Read full review

- Kay in DC

A great work.

This is a long audiobook you will be sorry to see end. The characters are wonderfully developed and the era is convincingly described. The interlude "Indian Summer of a Forsyte" is one of the most moving audio books I have heard.
It takes about thirty minutes to get used to the narrator and the long list of characters. But after that you are hooked.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-06-2005
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.