The Forbidden Garden

  • by Ellen Herrick
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, this lush imaginative novel takes listeners into the heart of a mysterious English country garden waiting to spring to life.
Every garden is a story waiting to be told....
At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.
Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried - and failed - to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment.
Intrigued by the house's history - especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls - and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enchanting

The narrator is mesmerizing as she reads this enchanting tale. The authors painted a peaceful setting for mysterious plot. I will go back and read the first novel to hear more on the Sparrow sisters.
Read full review

- Angela

I really really wanted to love this book

Would you try another book from Ellen Herrick and/or Fiona Hardingham?

Not sure. I would wait for reviews. After absolutely loving The Sorrel sisters, I could not wait for this book. But sadly, I was very disappointed. I simply never was interested or vested in any of the characters.


What do you think your next listen will be?

I'm reading reviews much more closely.


Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Narration was fine. The material was simply not interesting.


Do you think The Forbidden Garden needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No.


Any additional comments?

I almost turned the book back in for my credit back twice. But I kept thinking I was missing something. Sadly, I was not.

Read full review

- Michal

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio