The Forbidden Garden

  • by Ellen Herrick
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, this lush imaginative novel takes listeners into the heart of a mysterious English country garden waiting to spring to life.
Every garden is a story waiting to be told....
At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.
Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried - and failed - to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment.
Intrigued by the house's history - especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls - and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

thoroughly enjoyable. will listen again!

beautiful story especially for anyone who appreciates thinking hearing musing about Gardens and growing gardens. I believe this narration was the best narration that I've ever heard on audio books. I am going to look for more books narrated by this reader.
Read full review

- lesley ann

Enchanting as well as floral

What a lovely read ! Ellen Hedrick has created a beautiful story and Fiona Hardingham has such an enchanting narrative.
Read full review

- lynne m vokatis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio