The First : The Returned

  • by Jason Mott
  • Narrated by Victor Bevine
  • Series: The Returned
  • 0 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Jason Mott's haunting and unforgettable debut novel, The Returned, an impossible miracle is occurring all across the globe. Read how it all begins in this short story, The First.
It's been just over a year since Edmund Blithe died, and just over a month since his fiancee, Emily, stopped wearing her engagement ring. Emily has finally begun to move on… Until Edmund mysteriously and inexplicably returns, sending the world - and Emily - into a tailspin.
Edmund is only just the beginning. Around the world, people's loved ones are returning from beyond, seeking only to reenter the lives they left behind. As the world dives deep into uncertainty, Emily and Edmund are determined to find their way back to one another…even if it means risking everything.
The reappearances continue in The Sparrow, and look for The Returned from Harlequin MIRA, a moving tale of a family given a second chance at life and a world where nothing - not even death - is certain.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Melodramatic, swarmy, silly, not well written. Half way decent concept, just needs a good writer to do justice to it.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Under the Spell

Whatever sort of magic Jason Mott weaves, he has completely captivated me in the 34 short minutes of this prequel. As one who is easily disappointed by this genre, I am actually looking forward to August 27 and the release of The Returned.

The prequel promises much while not giving away anything - a difficult trick to pull off! During this brief introduction to Edmund and his "situation," which is apparently not limited just to him, the narrator immediately brings to life the author's portrayal of the characters' personalities.

Both writer and performer have left me spellbound and anxious for the story to continue. Well done
Read full review

- Madeleine Poe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios