Regular price: $19.35

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Martha is lost. She’s been lost since she was a baby, abandoned in a suitcase on the train from Paris. Ever since, she’s waited in the station's lost property for someone to claim her. It’s been 16 years, but she’s still hopeful.
In the meantime, there are mysteries to solve: secret tunnels under the station, a suitcase that may have belonged to the Beatles, the Roman soldier who appears at the same time every day with his packed lunch. Not to mention the stuffed monkey that someone keeps misplacing. But there is one mystery Martha cannot solve. And now the authorities have found out about the girl in lost property.
Time is running out - if Martha can’t discover who she really is, she will lose everything....
©2016 Caroline Wallace (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Margaret on 03-27-16

Magic in Liverpool

This book is a charming fairy tale, but slow going. There isn't much of a sense of urgency though the story has a ticking clock (Martha may be evicted); the threat is just ignored most of the time. Instead, the author focuses exhaustively on the characters' quirks and there are a lot of them. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Julia Stuart will enjoy, I think.

Narration is top notch.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lynn Lipp on 03-26-16

Wish they were all this good!

I grew up in London with an English mother and American father. I've been living in USA for 38 years. Although I've never been to Liverpool, I could relate to the characters and the story and enjoyed the unique mix of Beatles history, abandoned child looking for her mother and the tramp living in the train station.

Loved the narration and hope to read more from the author and listen to more by the narrator.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By KateS on 03-22-16

I got this to last a month; I didn't turn it off!

A beautiful fairytale of innocence, love, friendship and violence, wonderfully read in Martha's true voice.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 04-05-16

A very moving story

A Beautifully narrated, wonderful story with amazing images. I think I may have even cried.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Marina on 09-27-16

Quirky storytelling!

What did you like most about The Finding of Martha Lost?

The narration is excellent!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Mother. An interesting woman!

What about Katy Sobey’s performance did you like?

Katys performance is second to none! I don't know if its the story I liked or the reading! I could listen to Katy read the phone book!

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

What lurks beneath Lime St Station?

Any additional comments?

The book was captivating and the characters varied and interesting. Background stories on the main characters were so well written and intriguing. Even if towards the end you know where the story is heading you're still compelled to finish and the tie-up is satisfying. I cannot praise Katy Sobey's narration highly enough!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews