The Fear Institute : Johannes Cabal

  • by Jonathan L. Howard
  • Narrated by Nicholas Guy Smith
  • Series: Johannes Cabal
  • 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The third novel in the acclaimed cult-favorite series starring necromancer Johannes Cabal.
Johannes Cabal and his rather inexact powers of necromancy are back once more. This time, his talents are purchased by the Fear Institute as they hunt for the phobic animus - the embodiment of fear. The three institute members, led by Cabal and his silver key, enter the Dreamlands and find themselves pursued by walking trees plagued with giant ticks, stone men that patrol the ruins of their castles, cats that feed on human flesh, and phobias that torment and devastate. The intrepid explorers are killed off one by one as they traipse through this obfuscating and frustrating world, where history itself appears to alter. Cabal, annoyed that the quest is becoming increasingly heroic, finds himself alone with the institute's only remaining survivor, and after a shockingly violent experiment, begins to suspect that not everything is quite as it seems.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Into the Sea of Waking Dreams

Johannes Cabal is one of my all time favorite series, the first and fourth novel are two of my favorite books, ever. This is not the best of the Johannes Cabal series, it suffers from the fact that Cabal does not have a well-suited companion to play off of. Nevertheless, it also contains a chapter that absolutes shatters me; and an ending that made the wait for the fourth book nearly unbearable to wait for me. It is also well written, creative, and entertaining. You also must read this to get to the fourth book. It is worthwhile to read, but personally, I find it a weaker entry in the series.
Read full review

- Lindsay Kopp

slow at first, but well worth it

Fear Institute is definitely a departure from the previous two in the series in terms of tone and setting. It felt like Howard was trying something new (and Lovecraftian) that didn't always fit. There were times where Cabal felt slightly out of character, or that the analogies used for humor dragged on for too long to really be funny. However, it really picks up toward the second half, and imo the ending alone makes it fully worth reading!

Performance wise, Nicolas Guy Smith's iteration of Cabal was missing his German accent, which was a little disappointing after the first two books' audio renditions. But I got used to it after a while, and everything else was spot on.
Read full review

- Ashley McCammon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-05-2014
  • Publisher: Skyboat Media, Inc.