The Facts in the Case of M Valdemar

  • by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Narrated by William Roberts
  • 0 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Fall of the House of Usher collection.
The horrors of the Spanish Inquisition, with its dungeon of death, and the overhanging gloom on the House of Usher demonstrate unforgettably the unique imagination of Edgar Allan Poe. Unerringly, he touches upon some of our greatest nightmares: Premature burial, ghostly transformation, words from beyond the grave. Written in the 1840s, they have retained their power to shock and frighten even now.
Also in this collection of Poe's tales of mystery and imagination: "The Black Cat", "The Facts in the Case of M Valdemar", "The Cask of Amontillado", "Ligeia", "The Tell-Tale Heart", "The Masque of the Red Death", "The Premature Burial", and "The Raven".


Audible Editor Reviews

At the time of its publication, readers assumed that Edgar Allan Poe’s "The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar" - based on its title and tone - was not a short story but rather a factual account of one man’s deeply horrific dabbling in the realm of hypnotism. Of course, the story is a fiction, as Poe was eventually obligated to reveal, and we are welcome now to enjoy it as such in all its suspenseful glory. It details the gruesome results of a pseudoscientifically inclined narrator’s quest to mesmerize a friend on the brink of death.
William Roberts is an excellent voice actor whose highly trained and intensely dramatic performance style is well-suited to Poe’s spine-tingling theatrical prose.


What the Critics Say

"Those who thought only Basil Rathbone could narrate Poe are in for a surprise and a treat. The no-nonsense William Roberts narrates a production mercifully free of frills. No unnecessary music or sound effects interfere with the brilliance of the writing or the purity of the performance." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-25-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks