The Eiger Sanction : Johnathan Hemlock

  • by Trevanian
  • Narrated by Joe Barrett
  • Series: Johnathan Hemlock
  • 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a renovated Gothic church on Long Island lives Jonathan Hemlock, an art professor and a world-renowned mountain climber who finances his black-market art collection by working as a freelance assassin.Now, Hemlock is being tricked into a hazardous assignment that involves an attempt to scale one of the most treacherous mountain peaks in the Swiss Alps: the Eiger. His target is one of his three fellow climbers. The problem is that the CII can't tell him which one.This spine-tingling adventure, part thriller and part satire, introduces an intriguing cast of villains, traitors, and beautiful women into a highly charged atmosphere of danger and suspicion that builds to a death-defying climax.


What the Critics Say

"Superior suspense on almost every page...the hero is a masterpiece of conflicting qualities - something for everyone." (New York Times)
"Trevanian can write hoops around Ian Fleming." (Boston Globe)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story, great narration

No novel by Trevanian is a straightforward matter. Part thriller, part satire, EIGER SANCTION is an extremely well written treatise on mountain climbing, a dig at celebrity culture, an examination of the mind of a killer and in the final analysis; a great story. While a little slow to get going, the novel quietly builds up a head of steam, and while there is lots of diversion along the way,once the tension starts rising the pace never lets up.
The narrator is really good.
Read full review

- Andrew

Good satire and thriller

I just loved this book. The story is build up very well towards climbing the Eiger. The climbing itself is an awful good chapter with a surprising final. The narrator Joe Barret is really excellent. And folks; I am a girl and did not mind the fancy bits at all.
Read full review

- Anne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-29-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.