• The Edgar Allan Poe Collection I

  • By: Edgar Allan Poe
  • Narrated by: David Ian Davies
  • Length: 1 hr and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 07-22-05
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: One Voice Recordings
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.6 (26 ratings)

Regular price: $8.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $8.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Featuring three of Poe's most infamous and twisted tales, The Edgar Allan Poe Collection I is a staple for any fan of Edgar Allan Poe's dark stories of madness and horror. David Ian Davies gives a chilling performance in this compendium of terror. Thrilling and sinister, Davies' voice is perfectly suited for these disturbing scenes of torture and madness. It's incredible the way Davies is able to evoke and amplify the feelings of mystery and suspense present in Poe's work.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

One Voice Recordings presents amazingly versatile voice actor David Ian Davies performing three of Edgar Allan Poe's most famous short stories. Oblong Box is Poe's shipboard tale of a pleasure cruise to New York that progresses from odd to horribly grotesque.
In The Pit and the Pendulum, the infamous trials and inhuman violence of the French Inquisition are the inspiration for Poe's narrative of one man's waking nightmare as he finds himself being driven mad in a torture chamber by one horrific confrontation with hideous immolation after another.
The Black Cat is Poe's renowned and blood curdling story of one man's descent into madness, focused on his steadily growing and inexplicable hatred of a once beloved black feline. This tale is highly disturbing and not for the squeamish.
©2005 One Voice Recordings, All Rights Reserved
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Celina on 08-30-05

I would have liked a different accent better

These stories are classics, but I wasn't crazy about the reader's ultra-plummy Shakespearean accent. My husband wasn't bothered by it.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By philippe on 03-09-11

unfortunate experience

fortunately for me i had already read edgar allan poe's book, for this particular audiobook doesn't do justice to the author.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc