The Eagle's Prophecy : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Russell Boulter
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 13 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.
As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....

More

What the Critics Say

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." (Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." (Daily Express)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Intrigue, treachery and lots of action

This is book six in the series. I have been able to read only episodes one and three as Audible does not carry the other volumes. The year is 45 AD; Centurions Marco and Cato are in Rome awaiting the results of an official investigation of the death of a fellow officer in Britain. Cato may face a death sentence. Imperial Secretary Narcissus sends Marco and Cato on a special mission to rescue an Imperial agent captured by Illyrian pirates and return the Delphic Scrolls the agent was carrying.

The book is well written, fast paced with lots of action and naval battles as well as land battles. Scarrow features the Roman Navy in this story including its structure of command as well as information about the type of ships used. Our Hero's fight side by side with the Roman Marines and learn techniques to fight aboard ships. Russell Boulter did a good job narrating the story. I wish the publisher's would stay with one narrator throughout the series.
Read full review

- Jean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-14-2012
  • Publisher: Headline Digital