Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.
As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....
©2005 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." ( Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." ( Daily Express)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 03-21-16

Intrigue, treachery and lots of action

This is book six in the series. I have been able to read only episodes one and three as Audible does not carry the other volumes. The year is 45 AD; Centurions Marco and Cato are in Rome awaiting the results of an official investigation of the death of a fellow officer in Britain. Cato may face a death sentence. Imperial Secretary Narcissus sends Marco and Cato on a special mission to rescue an Imperial agent captured by Illyrian pirates and return the Delphic Scrolls the agent was carrying.

The book is well written, fast paced with lots of action and naval battles as well as land battles. Scarrow features the Roman Navy in this story including its structure of command as well as information about the type of ships used. Our Hero's fight side by side with the Roman Marines and learn techniques to fight aboard ships. Russell Boulter did a good job narrating the story. I wish the publisher's would stay with one narrator throughout the series.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Linus on 12-04-17

Regrettably the weakest in the series so far.<br />

Aside from the change in tone/performance, the story is lacking aswell. it's alright, not great.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By daveyates on 07-05-17

Okay but very hammy performance

The story is fine, a good adventure romp and a good addition to the Makro and Cato books, but this book sees a change of narrator. The book was played out to impressions of Terry Thomas, Leslie Phillips, Michael Caine, Captain Pugwash, Ernst Blofelt and Quasimodo. It was pretty ridiculous.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 10-13-16

I Finally Caved In!

About a year ago I said that I was stuck because books 4 and 5 in this series were not available. Sadly at the time of writing that's still the case but I finally caved in. This series is massively fun and despite missing the two books it was excellent to catch up with Macro and Cato once again.

Things have obviously changed since I last spent time with them but all of the things that were strong previously are still very much in evidence. Simon Scarrow ably demonstrates an excellent knowledge of the time period and this time we are treated to some chariot racing and naval action.

The humour between the two main characters made me smile, particularly the scene where Cato charges the enemy!

There is lots of action, no little intrigue and at times a light touch. I won't be leaving it a year before the next one.

Read More Hide me

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Paul on 02-03-18

Great story - pity about the narrator

The change of narrator has significantly lowered my enjoyment of the series. Great story by Scarrow as always but this will be my last.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Rhys on 10-13-17

Good Listen

Vespasian = "Im Batman!"

I enjoyed the performance and the story is entertaining but the voice for Vespasian didn't fit the character

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc