Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.
Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.
Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.
©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Timothy on 09-09-17

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Stephen on 04-22-17

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 06-02-17

Pawns Are Important Too!

Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

Read More Hide me

4 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By D. J. Wilkinson on 07-19-18

I hadn’t realised

I hadn’t realised that it was possible for this series to get any better? It just did. I loved this continuing chronicle of Cato and Macro. Top marks ... and so on to the next one!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 04-09-18

Action packed

You can tell Simon Scarrow is a scholar of this genre, it is a well researched, informative and thrilling work of fiction. I really enjoyed this chapter of the dynamic duo's journey and was very (happy ? Relieved ?) that he managed to turn the tale around for the ending. Another good job with the narration too.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Pamela on 08-16-17

love the series and the people

Interesting time of history, interesting and likable characters, great adventures, not too grim, not flufffy. Perfect escapist listening!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews