Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined. But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians....
©2001 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Gripping and moving." (The Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By kevin dry on 06-05-14

easy listening

Would you listen to The Eagle's Conquest again? Why?

Yes in a years time; you miss pieces while driving

Who was your favorite character and why?

Carto - lead charactor

Have you listened to any of David Thorpe’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

listen to another in the same series so no difference

If you could rename The Eagle's Conquest, what would you call it?

in a Roman army

Read More Hide me

By Erik on 04-12-14

Solid Sword and Sandals Story

This really is an entertaining series. Not exactly haute literature, but the writing is solid and the stories draw you in. As always, Simon Scarrow is perfectly matched to this series.

Give this one a try if you’re into this genre. You won’t be disappointed.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Simon on 10-11-15

Excellent Sequel

Simon Scarrow has created two characters who go together extremely well despite their differences. This book continues to follow their exploits in Britain and includes some minor engagements and a significant climactic battle with a genuinely exciting ending.

The combination of the well-rounded characters, Scarrow's detailed knowledge of his subject area and David Thorpe's excellent narration make this a genuinely compelling package that I would recommend to anyone interested in the genre though the books are probably better read in order.

The weakness still, as I write, is that this series has gaps in it on Audible that remain unplugged for whatever reason so have to be sought in other formats.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful


By Adam on 08-26-15

I'm really enjoying this series!

the characters are constantly evolving and it sticks as closely as possible to historical records so makes it more believable! recommended!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Brad on 05-27-17

good book with some holes

the story was good apart from the story holes with carto and Lavinia, they speak of knowing the Tribune before their relationship however she was only a slave on the market only recently

Read More Hide me

By PTL on 04-16-15

eagles conquest review

I am enjoying these Roman era books but I think the author should look at how communications would have occurred particularly between the Romans and the tribes of Britain ( i guess Celts at that time) doubt that the natives spoke latin . Other than this I enjoyed the licence that the author took lookink forward to the next in the series.

Peter T. L.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews