Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?
©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy." ( The Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By TheToal on 04-17-18

great Story, great narration

another great story, and the narrator (new with this book) did a great job bringing the story to life for me. already downloaded the next book!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Mike From Mesa on 03-24-18

Cato and Macro are in trouble again

I bought the first book in this series, Under The Eagle, out of curiosity. I have had a continuing interest in Ancient Rome and I enjoy a good historical novel, so I thought I would give it a chance. I enjoyed it, but not so much that I went out and bought the next book in the series right away. After about 6 months I decided to listen to the next book available in the series (book 3 as book 2 is not available) and thoroughly enjoyed that. The books were getting better, or I was getting more interested in the main characters of the novels, or both.

Book 4 was better yet. Cato keeps growing as a character, Macro provides a good counter-point, the story of the Roman Legions in Great Britain and the fight against the Celtic rebellion led by Caratacus gives the story interest and relevancy.This book, which concerns the effort to train the local Celts as an ally to Rome, has been the best in the series so far and is full of interesting people, political intrigue, great bravery and more than a little pathos. The back story of the novel is, of course, accurate, and the entire book feels more like a history than a novel. Mr Scarrow's writing is wonderful and the narration by Jonathan Keeble is first class. There is a bit too much detail in the battle descriptions for my taste, but I can easily overlook that, given the gripping story itself.

I will buy the next book in the series much earlier than after another 6 month wait.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By jamie on 06-28-17

Why was this released in a weird order?

loved it but It was released a long time after book 11. Why? I enjoy the stories so it makes little difference but now I have the time line messed up

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 03-26-17

The Boys are Back in Town

At last this book is available on Audible UK with the next following soon. A great present from our friendly audiobook supplier!

Macro and Cato are once again thrown into misadventure as they are unwittingly placed into the heart of the Emporer's campaign for Britain both in terms of the military and diplomacy. As ever our chalk and cheese leads approach the situation in their own unique ways with, needless to say, mixed results. It all builds very enjoyably until the final few hours of the book which bring it to a close with a crunching set of action set pieces brimming with fine detail.

I think this is as good as anything else I've read in the series to date.and I'll be lapping up the next one as soon as I can!

Read More Hide me

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 03-20-18

Very good

Another great chapter following this pairing of comrades. Very happy to find they'll continue their journey which I'm very much looking forward to mivjbf on to now.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Pamela on 06-13-17

ripping historical yarn

I'm invested in the characters, and they are set in a great sweep of history. I intend to keep going with the series

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc