The Dress in the Window

  • by Sofia Grant
  • Narrated by Teri Schnaubelt
  • 9 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress - it's a "must have", and when you "try it on" it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention, Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.
World War II has ended, and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color - all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.
Jeanne Brink and her sister, Peggy, both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer - Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancé she'd counted on, both living with Peggy's mother-in-law in a grim mill town. But despite their gray pasts, they long for a bright future - Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy's brilliant sketches.
Together they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they'd ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make - or break - their dreams.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-25-2017
  • Publisher: Harper Audio