Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.
During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, 21-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances.
When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front - and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi, unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart.
Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi's parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe - all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive.
As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For both men, Emi Kato is never far from their minds.
Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA Today) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
©2017 Karin Tanabe (P)2017 Simon & Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Mona-Alisa on 01-12-18

Wartime Love Story

I’ve listened to every modern WWII historical fiction book I can find. There are only two I will not forget. All the Light We Cannot See and the Diplomat’Daughter.

Most western books tell the story based in Europe. This one tells of a story about America’s history of interning the Japanese-Americans and nationals and German-Americans and nationals. Then proceeds from there to life in Japan during the war. There are glimpses of life in China.

I can easily picture this as a movie. Certainly there would be interest to WWII fiction aficionados due to the rarely told part of the Japanese experience.

Lovely coming of age story of Emi Kato, daughter of a Japanese diplomat who has lived in the West until the war sends her home to Japan, a home she hardly knows.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By R. C. Autrey on 04-03-18

Scratches the surface of love and war, but...

This book seems to scratch the surface of love and war, but never really elicited any real emotion. I personally didn’t feel any real depth in this book. There wasn’t anything that really made me think deeper about such an important time in history. It’s definitely more of a love story than a historical one. I really wanted more insight on Japan and the internment camps, but everything felt really rushed and glossed over. Also, the narrator that did Leo’s character was literally emotionless. In scenes that required screaming or panic or anger, they instead were almost done at a whisper. The narrator’s energy never changed regardless of what was happening! This may have played into my lack of connection to the book. I don’t know. All together though I felt the story was just lacking.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews