The Deepest Secret

  • by Carla Buckley
  • Narrated by Kirsten Potter
  • 11 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control - and some secrets that not even love can conceal.
Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power - a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, February 2014 - I love a good suspense story--add to that the secrecy of suburbia, and you have yourself a winner. When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be more of a psychological thriller. Instead I got a captivating tale about a family’s struggles, both internal and external, and just how far a mother would go to protect her family. Though this book deals with very heavy & somewhat unlikely situations, it left me questioning my own beliefs about forgiveness and morality. I definitely stayed up way too late reading this book- I just needed to find out how everything would be resolved. –Laura, Audible Editor

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gripping

I could not stop reading/listening. The book is not really a "mystery." It's about right and wrong choices. It's about relationships. It's about human nature. Carla Buckley makes this all come to life in a book that grabs you from the start with an obvious, but true, insight into what seems to be happening 'out in the open' (in the light) and what's really happening 'behind the curtains' (at night). The reader is quite good.

[I googled the disease of the main character and almost found the websites as gripping as this novel. Kudos to the parents who have to deal with this heart-wrenching and life-altering diagnosis for their child--and to the patients!!! Wow.]

I was disappointed to read the reviews of the author's first novel (it sounds like she was testing the waters for this one). However, this one was good enough to put the first on my 'wish list'.....and to hope that her third one comes quickly.

Read full review

- cristina

Not what I expected

What did you like best about this story?

I thought the son's illness and how the family led this upside down life to protect him was very interesting and a unique backdrop for the story.


If you could take any character from The Deepest Secret out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Holly....What is so wrong Holly? Holly's story would make a great follow-up sequel to this one.


Any additional comments?

What a great listen! I thought the narrator was excellent and I really had no idea what was going to happen in the end. Lots of twists, turns, interesting characters and relationships. I actually just purchased and am going to listen to another one by this author I was so impressed.

Read full review

- Girlbos

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-04-2014
  • Publisher: Random House Audio