The Deep End of the Ocean

  • by Jacquelyn Mitchard
  • Narrated by Dana Ivey
  • 3 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Few first novels receive the kind of attention and acclaim showered on this powerful story - a nationwide best seller, a critical success, and the first title chosen for Oprah’s Book Club. Both highly suspenseful and deeply moving, The Deep End of the Ocean imagines every mother's worst nightmare - the disappearance of a child - as it explores a family’s struggle to endure, even against extraordinary odds. Filled with compassion, humor, and brilliant observations about the texture of real life, here is a story of rare power, one that will touch readers’ hearts and make them celebrate the emotions that make us all one.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story line. . .

not too over the top. Felt like something was missing as story line moved on.
Read full review

- Marzette Lewis

Great reading, but way too much cut out

Would you try another book from Jacquelyn Mitchard and/or Dana Ivey?


What other book might you compare The Deep End of the Ocean to and why?

I don't know.

What aspect of Dana Ivey’s performance would you have changed?

She reads sad moments too cheerfully.

Do you think The Deep End of the Ocean needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No. After a story this dramatic and deep and the way it ends I prefer imagening myself how their lives carried on.

Any additional comments?

Don't purchase this audiobook if you want to know the full story. I've read this book before and HUGE important parts and events of especially the first chaptets have been cut out in this audio version. This is nowhere near as emotional as the physical copy version. Like, I can't believe how much they've left out!!! And can't understand why anything had to be cut out at all. That's why I gave the story only three stars. The original, full story in the physical paper copy is solid five stars.

Read full review

- B. Sulin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-24-2015
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio