Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Matthew Cahill is a simple man leading a quiet life... until he is tragically killed in an avalanche at a ski resort. Three months later his corpse is found and sent to the morgue - but then something inexplicable happens. He wakes up. Now he can see evil... as a festering rot that eats people alive from the inside out.
And he can see Mr. Dark, the horrific figure who gleefully spreads it like a plague... and whois the only one who can tell Matt whether he is still a man... or the walking dead.For Matt, each day is a journey into a supernatural world he knows nothing about... a quest for the answers to who he is and what he has become... and a bloody fight to save us, and his soul, from the clutches of pure evil.
Here are the first three unforgettable novels in Lee Goldberg & William Rabkin’s The Dead Man– Face of Evil, Ring of Knives, and Hell in Heaven – a horrifying new series that Post-Modern Pulps hails as “a direct spiritual descendant of the sorts of awesome pulp action adventure tales that the greats like Robert E. Howard loved to write!”
©2011 Adventures in Television, Inc (P)2012 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jim "The Impatient" on 04-02-17


I am not sure why this is buried so far in the back of the horror section? It is actually very well written, exciting and kind of Twilight Zone like. Our main character dies, but comes back to life. He sees evil in the faces of others. The evil faces appear to him to be rotting and festering with maggots. There are three stories all staring the same character. He is in a different location for each. In one he is in a mental hospital and in another he is in an isolated town with lots paranormal things happening. If your a paranormal fan, you want to give this a shot. I loved the first story, the second story was only above average and I really liked the last story.

Narrator does an excellent job.

Read More Hide me

45 of 50 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Michael on 08-03-12

Suprisingly Good!

What did you love best about The Dead Man Vol 1?

I liked that the character built up over time. This is really more like three 'adventures' for the hero of the book, from the time he first gets his supernatural 'powers' to his knowing more about them and helping others.

What other book might you compare The Dead Man Vol 1 to and why?

Don't really know.

What does James Daniels and Luke Daniels bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The readers were pretty good at changing their voices to match the characters, but I couldn't help thinking that one of the 'evil nurses' was a giant frog!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I could enjoy it in one sitting.

Any additional comments?

Hope the series keeps going. I bought Volume 2 to listen to next.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc