Regular price: $27.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Ralph Peters returns with the fourth installment in his Boyd Award-winning series on the Civil War.
Glory turned grim, and warfare changed forever.
From the butchery of the Crater, where stunning success collapsed into a massacre, through near-constant battles fought by heat-stricken soldiers to the crucial election of 1864, The Damned of Petersburg resurrects the American Civil War's hard reality, as plumes and sabers gave way to miles of trenches.
Amid the slaughter of those fateful months, fabled leaders - Grant and Lee, Winfield Scott Hancock and A. P. Hill - turned for help to rising heroes, Confederates like "Little Billy" Mahone and Wade Hampton, last of the cavaliers, and Union warriors such as the tragedy-stricken Francis Channing Barlow and the fearless Nelson Miles, a general at 24.
Ralph Peters does not forget the men in the ranks, the common soldiers who paid the price for the blunders of commanders who would never know their names. In desperate battles now forgotten - such as Deep Bottom, Globe Tavern, and Reams Station - soldiers on both sides were pushed to the last human limits but fought on as their superiors struggled to master a terrible new age of warfare.
The Damned of Petersburg revives heroes aplenty, enriching our knowledge of our most terrible war, but above all this novel is a tribute to the endurance and courage of the American soldier, North and South.
©2016 Ralph Peters (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Daniel N. Hill on 09-18-16

Ralph Peters continues!

Another good book about the civil war and he eastern theater. The only complaint is the reader was too southern sounding, tends to distract from the tale. The story line is intriguing tho and tells the horrible facts the nation suffered in e era.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Chosroes on 12-12-17

Just superb

Once again a winner from Ralph peters with the only books to get right inside the grim bitter battles of the campaigning around Petersburg
This must be some of the best military fiction ever written only comparable to harry sidebottom s warrior of Rome saga in my estimation

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc