• The Cruellest Game

  • By: Hilary Bonner
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 01-16-14
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
  • 3.0 (5 ratings)

Regular price: $29.68

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.68

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An unnerving psychological thriller from the best-selling author of The Cruelty of Morning. Perfect for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah.
The lie was just the begnning.... Marion Anderton lives the perfect life. She has a beautiful home, a handsome and loving husband, and an intelligent and caring son. But as easily as perfect lives are built, they can also be demolished. When tragedy strikes at the heart of her family, Marion finds herself in the middle of a nightmare, with no sign of waking-up. The life she treasured is disintegrating before her very eyes, but it's just the beginning of something much worse and altogether more deadly.…
©2013 Hilary Bonner (P)2014 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Delah on 03-07-14

Just ok - too wordy

This book is just over 11.5 hrs. In my opinion it should have been edited down. It was too long. I think some writers write a bunch of extra words just because they can and thus make what could have been a really good tight story a long and windy story. Where are the editors? The narrator is good.

Read More Hide me

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Libertine78 on 08-06-14

Disappointing

Any additional comments?

I bought this based on reviews on other Hilary Bonner novels.
It was boringly slow and the story line is full of holes. I regret wasting a credit on it.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By mialee on 11-30-14

Ok listen but dragged on and gaping plot holes

Would you try another book written by Hilary Bonner or narrated by Karen Cass?

I would try another by narrater not author. Narrator did her best and was quite good at differentiating different characters.

What will your next listen be?

Am listening to "the secret place"

Have you listened to any of Karen Cass’s other performances? How does this one compare?

no

Do you think The Cruellest Game needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

please no !

Any additional comments?

Very unbelievable plot and characterisation, felt like it should have ended about 2 hours before it finally did but author wanted to spin out final "twist" though that "twist" just like all the others in book had been pretty obvious all along.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc