The Cruel Sea

  • by Nicholas Monsarrat
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • 17 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Based on the author's own vivid experiences, The Cruel Sea is the nail-biting story of the crew of HMS Compass Rose, a corvette assigned to protect convoys during World War II.
Darting back and forth across the icy North Atlantic, Compass Rose played a deadly cat-and-mouse game with packs of German U-boats lying in wait beneath the ocean waves. Packed with tension and vivid descriptions of agonizing U-boat hunts, this tale of the most bitter and chilling campaign of the war tells of ordinary men who had to master their own fears before they could face a brutal menace - one that would strike without warning from the deep.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Just like the movie

If you like me saw the movie before picking up this book, you can't help but see Jack Hawkins as the face of Ericson. The book and the movie are so similar you would think Monsarrat had written a screen play. The characters are many and varied and you will care about them. It's a rare talent that can capture the boredom and tedium (that is ninety-nine percent of war) without being similarly boring and tedious. This was a period in the war when all was in doubt and British sailors had little means to fight a battle of attrition. Monsarrat has a knack for dissecting human character exposing the qualities that make persons weak or strong; a follower or a leader; petty or courageous.
Read full review

- J.

Better than reading the book or watching the movie

Would you consider the audio edition of The Cruel Sea to be better than the print version?

Yes. I was concerned that it would lack suspense fir me because I previously read the book and saw the 1953 movie.

What about Simon Vance’s performance did you like?

Vance gives a different voice to each character. Its as if you are listening to a play.

Read full review

- Andrew Jacob

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-29-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.