The Cross and the Curse : The Bernicia Chronicles

  • by Matthew Harffy
  • Narrated by Barnaby Edwards
  • Series: The Bernicia Chronicles
  • 14 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

634AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by Oswald, king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with his bride only to find himself surrounded by enemies old and new.
With treachery and death on all sides, Beobrand fears he will lose all he holds dear. On a quest for revenge and redemption, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

not as good as the first but not bad

Book dragged on didnt really ever keep me as intrested as most book in this genre but will listen to the next one.
Read full review

- C Harlow

great book !!!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Cross and the Curse to be better than the print version?

The unabridged audio book version allows me to read while doing other things.


What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cross and the Curse?

The warrior ethic was interesting in various scenes. The strong sense of honor and loyalty impressed me.


Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

He is a good reader and makes you enjoy the performance.


If you could rename The Cross and the Curse, what would you call it?

I would not rename it --- the title is fine as the author chose it.


Any additional comments?

would recommend the Book series---this is Book 2

Read full review

- FuzzyLogicRiceCooker

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-01-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios