The Cross Gardner

  • by Jason F. Wright
  • Narrated by Lincoln Hoppe
  • 6 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author, an inspiring story of life, love, and moving on.
Married and the father of a young daughter, John Bevan had finally found the traditional family he lacked as an orphaned child. But all that disappears when a fatal car accident steals away his wife - and the unborn child she carried.
Filled with sorrow, John withdraws from life and love. He erects a small cross at the scene of his wife's accident and visits daily, grieving. Then, one morning he encounters a young man kneeling before the cross, touching it up with white paint. John's conversations and travels with this mysterious man - known to him only as the Cross Gardener - will forever change his world.
From Jason F. Wright comes a timeless tale that explores the questions we ask when our lives are touched by loss: How do we carry on? And who will show us the way? The answers John Bevan finds illuminate the hope that even in our darkest hours we are not alone.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Challenging Time Challenging Book

I listened to this book very shortly after loosing my mother, suddenly and unexpectedly. So, it was a challenging book to read. I think anytime you read someone's interpretation of how death works -- I think that you can get caught up in measuring every word, every interpretation, every point of doctrine. I found that it was much easier to open myself up to the ways in which healing can come from unexpected sources.

I especially enjoyed learning about life on an apple orchard. And, I could recognize in the story some of the universality of loss and grief.

However, that said, I found the device that Mr. Wright used in the cross gardener a little too distracting. I think the author was well-intentioned and I appreciated the uplifting tone, but this isn't a book I could recommend without reservations.
Read full review

- Melanie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-02-2010
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio