The Cottingley Secret

  • by Hazel Gaynor
  • Narrated by Karen Cass, Billie Fullford-Brown
  • 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling author of The Girl Who Came Home turns the clock back 100 years to a time when two young girls from Cottingley, Yorkshire, convinced the world that they had done the impossible and photographed fairies in their garden. Now, in her newest novel, international best seller Hazel Gaynor reimagines their story.
1917... It was inexplicable, impossible, but it had to be true - didn't it? When two young cousins, Frances Griffiths and Elsie Wright from Cottingley, England, claim to have photographed fairies at the bottom of the garden, their parents are astonished. But when one of the great novelists of the time, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, becomes convinced of the photographs' authenticity, the girls become a national sensation, their discovery offering hope to those longing for something to believe in amid a world ravaged by war. Frances and Elsie will hide their secret for many decades. But Frances longs for the truth to be told.
One hundred years later...When Olivia Kavanagh finds an old manuscript in her late grandfather's bookshop, she becomes fascinated by the story it tells of two young girls who mystified the world. But it is the discovery of an old photograph that leads her to realize how the fairy girls' lives intertwine with hers, connecting past to present and blurring her understanding of what is real and what is imagined. As she begins to understand why a nation once believed in fairies, can Olivia find a way to believe in herself?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lovely listen!

Lovely listen...great narration for an intriguing story - I really didn't want it to end!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Just lovely

What a sweet book! Loved the characters and the whole story. Have loved the fairy stories for years having seen the movie. The book is just great. Narration very good. Loved her accents and characterization. Made it come to life.
Read full review

- Tanya M. Spiegel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2017
  • Publisher: Harper Audio